Go Back   North East F-Body Association > Tech > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:44 PM
Formula413's Avatar
Formula413 Formula413 is offline
Moderbator
Asteroids Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Northeast dreaming of the Southwest
Posts: 5,603
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 647
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 39
Default Non F Body question - 12 volt outlet

The 12V power outlet in my Civic is only on with the ignition switch in accessory or on, and I want to wire it to be on all the time, to power phone and GPS chargers. What would be a good circuit to tap into? It's rated for 10 amps, I'd like to at least keep that or up it to 15. The first thing that came to mind is the constant power wire to the radio. Any other suggestions? I believe in an F Bucket it shares the same circuit as the OBD-II port, which is also near the outlet.
__________________
Alex



GRAMMAR HOW-TO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2010, 10:00 PM
ILuvPizzaTimes10's Avatar
ILuvPizzaTimes10 ILuvPizzaTimes10 is offline
YOUR ALL GUNNA DIE!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 9,380
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 21
Thanks (Received): 192
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 587
Dislikes (Given): 25
Dislikes (Received): 83
Default

look in the fuse box. there might be a double fuse holder for the cig fuse one will be switched power and one will be on all the time.
__________________


1998 Firebird:buncha parts thats used to make it go fast..... not so much anymore.
BAAAAAA!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2010, 12:44 AM
Navy01z's Avatar
Navy01z Navy01z is offline
The Conversation
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beacon Falls, CT
Posts: 1,735
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

Goto to the constant wire off the ignition harness. In Hondas its usually white and will be about a 10-12 gauge wire. Make sure you put a fuse on your lead from the constnat to the outlet. I wouls also not cut the plug behind the cig lighter. Just run your new 12v line and also run a new ground. Leave the plug so that if you ever want to change back its easy and because the circuit the lighter is on now will still be live.
__________________

2001 Navy Blue Metallic Z28 hardtop. M6, black Z06 wheels(17x9.5 fronts/18x10.5 rears), Thunder 224cam, Kooks 1 7/8 stainless headers/ypipe, Magnaflow exhaust, Hurst shifter, SLP CAI/lid, K&N air filter, Manley double roller timing chain, 160stat, Thunder ported oil pump, SPEC Stage 3+ clutch w/billet flywheel, Powerstop cross-drilled/slotted rotors, and SLOWHAWK TUNED!!!
SLOWHAWK IS THE MUTHAFUCKIN MAN!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2010, 02:52 AM
Formula413's Avatar
Formula413 Formula413 is offline
Moderbator
Asteroids Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Northeast dreaming of the Southwest
Posts: 5,603
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 647
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 39
Default

So are you saying leave the existing positive wire on the outlet and connect the new wire from the ignition switch? Couldn't bridging those two circuits cause some sort of issue?
__________________
Alex



GRAMMAR HOW-TO
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2010, 02:57 AM
Navy01z's Avatar
Navy01z Navy01z is offline
The Conversation
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beacon Falls, CT
Posts: 1,735
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula413 View Post
So are you saying leave the existing positive wire on the outlet and connect the new wire from the ignition switch? Couldn't bridging those two circuits cause some sort of issue?
No unplug the factory plug but dont cut it off. Just leave it unplugged and run your new wires directly to the outlet.
__________________

2001 Navy Blue Metallic Z28 hardtop. M6, black Z06 wheels(17x9.5 fronts/18x10.5 rears), Thunder 224cam, Kooks 1 7/8 stainless headers/ypipe, Magnaflow exhaust, Hurst shifter, SLP CAI/lid, K&N air filter, Manley double roller timing chain, 160stat, Thunder ported oil pump, SPEC Stage 3+ clutch w/billet flywheel, Powerstop cross-drilled/slotted rotors, and SLOWHAWK TUNED!!!
SLOWHAWK IS THE MUTHAFUCKIN MAN!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2010, 03:02 AM
Formula413's Avatar
Formula413 Formula413 is offline
Moderbator
Asteroids Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Northeast dreaming of the Southwest
Posts: 5,603
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 647
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 39
Default

OK gotcha. I know it's pretty easy to get to the ignition harness cause I had the on/off wire for my amp in there at one point. I'll check the fuse box too like Pizza suggested.
__________________
Alex



GRAMMAR HOW-TO
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2010, 03:14 AM
Navy01z's Avatar
Navy01z Navy01z is offline
The Conversation
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beacon Falls, CT
Posts: 1,735
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula413 View Post
OK gotcha. I know it's pretty easy to get to the ignition harness cause I had the on/off wire for my amp in there at one point. I'll check the fuse box too like Pizza suggested.
It is a way safer connection to goto the ignition harness than to the fusebox. Comes out way cleaner too. Tapping into fuse boxes can cause damage quick. Most of the time it doesnt but it can.
__________________

2001 Navy Blue Metallic Z28 hardtop. M6, black Z06 wheels(17x9.5 fronts/18x10.5 rears), Thunder 224cam, Kooks 1 7/8 stainless headers/ypipe, Magnaflow exhaust, Hurst shifter, SLP CAI/lid, K&N air filter, Manley double roller timing chain, 160stat, Thunder ported oil pump, SPEC Stage 3+ clutch w/billet flywheel, Powerstop cross-drilled/slotted rotors, and SLOWHAWK TUNED!!!
SLOWHAWK IS THE MUTHAFUCKIN MAN!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2010, 03:48 AM
Formula413's Avatar
Formula413 Formula413 is offline
Moderbator
Asteroids Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Northeast dreaming of the Southwest
Posts: 5,603
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 647
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 39
Default

I looked in the fuse box and there isn't a second spot where the outlet fuse could go, so I'll just run a wire from the ignition switch. I'll add an inline fuse holder too. Is a 15 amp ok or should I go lower?
__________________
Alex



GRAMMAR HOW-TO
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2010, 03:51 AM
ILuvPizzaTimes10's Avatar
ILuvPizzaTimes10 ILuvPizzaTimes10 is offline
YOUR ALL GUNNA DIE!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 9,380
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 21
Thanks (Received): 192
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 587
Dislikes (Given): 25
Dislikes (Received): 83
Default

whats the stock one rated for? use that size. going bigger can just cause harm to the socket if it cant handle the load. 15 is what they usually are though.
__________________


1998 Firebird:buncha parts thats used to make it go fast..... not so much anymore.
BAAAAAA!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-23-2010, 03:54 AM
Formula413's Avatar
Formula413 Formula413 is offline
Moderbator
Asteroids Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Northeast dreaming of the Southwest
Posts: 5,603
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 647
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 39
Default

Yeah usually, but this one says 12V 120W, which is ten amps. I don't see why it couldn't be 15 though.
__________________
Alex



GRAMMAR HOW-TO
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.