Go Back   North East F-Body Association > Tech > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2012, 05:03 PM
BigMac76 BigMac76 is offline
500 Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 797
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 19
Likes (Given): 35
Likes (Received): 74
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default VATS light on, even with remote start

Ok guys, just started running into this problem here last 2 days now. Yesterday morning I walk out and hit the button to use the remote start on my car and it wouldn't start. When I get to the car I notice the security light is on not allowing the engine to crank over. I cancelled the remote start on the car and put the key in the ignition. After about 3 mins it reset and could start the car with the key in the cylinder. Then again this morning I start the car using the remote start and stop at a honey farms to get something to drink. Leaving the store I hit the remote start button and it does it again. Security light comes on and won't reset unless the key is in the ignition for ~3 mins.

Thinking either the trd/vats system is starting to act funky or maybe the module for the remote start is acting up. Any guesses on what to check first? Most likely I'll bring the car to Don to get a tune done and have it tuned out. But in the meanwhile need to figure it out.
__________________
There is no replacement for displacement...
99 Camaro Z28 M6 - Sold Aug 2013
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2012, 05:33 PM
My84Z's Avatar
My84Z My84Z is offline
Post Whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: dartmouth
Posts: 2,925
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 57
Likes (Given): 7
Likes (Received): 240
Dislikes (Given): 6
Dislikes (Received): 24
Default

Gonna have to see how they bypassed vats when they did the remote start must be a loose connection. As far as I know when u do a remote start you disable the cars security system
__________________

2000 SS Procharger
98 Z vert turbo
07 TB SS cai catback and tune
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2012, 06:54 PM
BigMac76 BigMac76 is offline
500 Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 797
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 19
Likes (Given): 35
Likes (Received): 74
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

Yeah, usually it should come with a bypass module. But anything is possible when somebody else puts shit in a car that you weren't around for. Going to check it tonight when I get home.
__________________
There is no replacement for displacement...
99 Camaro Z28 M6 - Sold Aug 2013
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2012, 08:14 PM
ILuvPizzaTimes10's Avatar
ILuvPizzaTimes10 ILuvPizzaTimes10 is offline
YOUR ALL GUNNA DIE!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 9,380
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 21
Thanks (Received): 192
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 587
Dislikes (Given): 25
Dislikes (Received): 83
Default

Small ornage shielded cable with white wiring comin fron the base of the column. It is connected to the bcm and the bcm tells the ecm "ok to start" if that connection has been bypassed(a resistor acroos the two wires) and that bypass has gone bad. That couldddd be your issue. But with vats the car will crank and start but won't run for very long and stumble and die. The vats is a fuel calso.ut. Check the starter relay also! The security light will come on untill the car starts and runs for a few seconds. So just cuz its on and not flashing? Doesn't mean its vats.
__________________


1998 Firebird:buncha parts thats used to make it go fast..... not so much anymore.
BAAAAAA!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.